top of page

Pain in the Booth

My husband and I are very different when it comes to celebrations, my husband likes things low-key, I like themes. I love celebrating a birthday month for myself, my husband doesn’t even like his birthday acknowledged. So when it comes to our son we have had many conversations about what we will do for his birthday along with holidays. So for our son’s first birthday we decided that we would just invite family over for pizza and cupcakes… well, I did happen upon pinterest and just happen to come across a cute party prop that seemed simple enough… a photo booth!

Now, I just had to get my husband to agree. I get up the courage and with a sheepish smile on my face I show him the picture and ask if we could just have this one thing at Ru’s party. He looked at me(trying not to roll his eyes) and asks, are you sure this won’t be a stressful thing that you will have to waste a lot of time on? I promised it looked easy enough and if it turns out to be too much of a stress I won’t do it.

He agreed!

It actually was a pretty simple creation and so I thought I would share this craft with you.

Backdrop frame:

Directions for the backdrop frame can be found in the link below:

Photo Booth:

Supplies needed:

-2 Tri fold boards (whichever color you want)

-Picture frames (cheap ones from the dollar store are great)

-Pictures of the person or people of honor

-Cardboard box

-Hot glue gun

-Exacto Knife

-velcro

Directions:

Using the hot glue gun, glue 2 tri fold boards together using pieces cut from the cardboard box.

I also cut pieces to put over the folds so that they would stay straight.

At this point turn the boards back over and lay out all your picture frames and which picture frames you are going to use for the cut outs and outline those. Then, using the exacto knife, cut out the frame centers on the boards. **Make sure that where you are cutting does not line up with the backdrop frame or you will have a white bar in the middle of your cutout**

Use the velcro to place the normal pictures on to the board(that way you can reuse the board for other events and replace those pictures to suit the party) and then use the glue gun to glue the cut out frames to the board.

After this you are done except for placement of where you want your photo booth to be. If possible choose a wall that is one color and nothing is hanging on it or it will make the photo booth look odd in pictures. I used some cardboard pieces to attach the photo booth to the frame and also tapped down the bottom of the frame so no one would move it. I set up a stool in the back so little kids could reach and then set up the camera on a tripod so that the pictures would all be taken from the same place and anyone could take a picture during the party.

Last of all... Have fun!

Supplies


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page