top of page

Imperfect Me

I decided to make my son a TMNT piggy bank. I had made some for my niece and nephew and they turned out well with using sharpies, so I decided to try using paint this time.

I made the mistake of painting the whole thing and then painting the mask and other things over the first coat of paint… which made the pig look a little off, and the orange color mask not look orange. I wanted to start over, I wanted it to be perfect, I like being perfect. I had made a video of this craft for this blog but really just wanted to scrap the whole thing. But then something happened…

I showed the Mikey piggy bank to my son and his reaction to it changed my perspective. He seemed to love it with all the imperfections I couldn’t seem to get past.

The other imperfection I am struggling with:

My weight- I am over weight, I used to be under weight when I was sick with parasites. I do have to say I would rather be over than under in the weight category but I am still unhappy with how I look. I started looking at pictures and deleting ones where my double chin wasn’t hidden or would tell people I didn’t want pictures taken of me that day. But again I remember how my son loves to lift up my shirt and drum on my soft belly and how it makes him laugh. He only cares that I love him and am goofy with him.

I am not making excuses, I am working out and trying to eat healthy… or at least lessen my calories. But I can at least enjoy the journey instead of worrying about everyone thinking I “let myself go” or haven’t been able to get back to “pre-baby weight”. I would rather have fun with my son and work to get healthy over time.

Truth is, I have many imperfections but the people in my life don’t obsess over them like I do. They love me through it, or like my son, just care that I love him. Having imperfections doesn’t give me excuses to continue my life this way, I need to work on them, but I do not have to hide from life or fake who I am because of them.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page